Free (dumb)


Today is the day that Primary elections are held in my state of Texas. I have to say that I am fairly appalled at the turnout of voters.
So, my rant begins in 3…2…1…now.

I live in the greatest country in the world. The forefathers of America made great strides in making sure our freedoms and liberties were fair and protected. Mistakes were made and over time they are being adjusted to include all of use. The most underused freedom this country has is the right to vote.
We the people, seem to enjoy the right NOT to vote.
To those who have voted, kudos to you. This rant is not meant to offend you. To those that didn’t vote…. It’s not meant to offend you either. Most likely after the first paragraph where voting was mentioned you have likely left the building.
I am a person who voted today…. For the first time….in roughly 12 years. I didn’t for the same (free) dumb reasons most don’t. Allow me to list a few.

1- my one vote won’t change anything.
2- I’m not into politics
3- I don’t vote so I won’t bitch
4- it’s my right not to vote
5- I’m too young to make a difference

Blah, blah, blah.

I did vote today. Why now? I had freedoms taken away from me for 5 years. More to the point I gave them away by committing crimes. I paid my debt. I now have basic freedoms that everyone else should enjoy. Believe me when I say, ” It makes a big difference in your life when you can’t use the freedoms that make this country great.”
I said SHOULD enjoy. Fact is most don’t. I live in a town of roughly 22,000 people. I’ve checked up on polling results, so far, in most of the races going on the total number of votes has been less than 4,000. Sad. Sad. Sad.
Im done ranting. I need a tums. Let Free (dumb) ring.

One thought on “Free (dumb)

Leave a comment