Dairy Of A Madman


Doing things the homemade way is always quite a challenge.

My lovely wife is not able to eat any of the things that “normal” people…like myself…are able to consume in mass quantities without adverse side effects.

The avoidable items in our house include but are not limited to-

-gluten
-corn
-soy
-sugar
-white rice
-peanuts
-chocolate

When she is out of town, I go out an order gluten by the pound, topped with corn, peanuts, rice dipped in chocolate and covered in soy sauce.

When she is not…..we make everything homemade without the afore mentioned ingredients.

Our latest venture into the homemade venturistic stuff n things food type making dealio included attempting to make our own….

Yogurt.

IMG_0858.JPG
Because….

You can never have enough yogurt in your system.

Am I right? Who’s with me on this one?

It’s even fun to just say….

Yogurt….YOgurt….yoGURT.

Anyway…

We diligently searched for what seemed like days to find a recipe we liked.

But…

We came upon the same conundrum with each recipe.

Here is a sample recipe which pretty much described every recipe for homemade yogurt-

IMG_0856.PNG
You see what they did there?

To make homemade yogurt…..you need to add store bought yogurt.

IF I HAVE TO ADD YOGURT TO MAKE HOMEMADE YOGURT WHY WOULD I MAKE IT INSTEAD OF JUST BUYING IT?

Which brings up the obvious question….

How is yogurt REALLY made if it has to be added to itself to be made?

Was it ever really made in the first place?

Or

Is it just another unsolvable dairy mystery?

Maybe….just maybe….

Those are the questions that have been put on hold….

“Until the cows come home.”

IMG_0857.JPG

7 thoughts on “Dairy Of A Madman

    • Every recipe we looked at has yogurt as an ingredient. It makes no sense…..and it takes like 9 hours to make it. I could finish eating gallons of store brand yogurt in that amount of time.

  1. Hi, good2begone. I enjoy your blog!

    I think you need to use a powder starter to make it from scratch. Not that I know what that really is. But I’m pretty sure you can buy it. Maybe check out a health food store?

    Good luck!

  2. misstrie says:

    BAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA, XD , OH MY GOD, TOO FUNNY!! XD

    *AHEM* i mean… how unfortunate—i can imagine how frustrating that must be for you and your wife. 😦 …… XD XD 😉

    that’s SO weird though!! i’m going to blame the government—they must be behind this somehow…..

  3. Dude! I was starting to worry about you. Guess you’re just getting back into the work vs. posting thing.

    I blame the cows. Can’t trust anything that is that dang cute.

    Sherry

Leave a comment