Night Of The Chosen

by good2begone


The card that was slipped under the door of the hotel room had one word on it.

CHOSEN

It was written in fancy cursiveThe word raised a little off the paper. It seemed to glisten and beckoned to be heeded.

My Dad turned the card over. On the back it said,

To compete, be in front of the hotel at 9 pm.

That was all.

My Dad read it, raised his brow and said, “I’m intrigued. You feel like seeing what this is all about?”

”Sounds cool. Like a mystery movie or something. Let’s do it!!”

We ventured out to the front of the hotel and sat on the bench and waited.

My digital calculator/watch said 8:57 pm.

At precisely 9 pm a really long, dark, black limousine pulled in front of the hotel. An expressionless driver got out and came over to the passenger side of the luxury car. It had to be our ride.

He wore a t- shirt with one word on it-

CHOSEN

My Dad shrugged his shoulders and said, “I guess this is for us. Time to go.”

We got in and the door was closed after we say down and sank into the plush leather seats. The driver returned to the driver’s seat, without a word ever being spoken and started the car.

The limo was cool. Lots of buttons, compartments and fancy stuff. My Dad rode in silence as I opened and closed pretty much everything.

After what seemed like forever, the car stopped. Our door was opened by the expressionless driver in the “CHOSEN” t-shirt. We got out into what seemed like a parking lot…only it was filled with limos.

The biggest mansion I had ever seen was at the other end. The driver motioned us to follow the path and head toward the house.

He stayed behind and resumed his statuesque position next to the limousine.

We got to the house and rang the bell. It echoed loudly….like a scary movie.

I looked up at my Dad and smiled with anticipation.

The door opened.

Another expressionless man stood there wearing a t-shirt with that one word on it.

CHOSEN

He led us on a tour of the house. It was awesome. Room after room after room of awesomeness. When the tour was over we were led to the dining area where a roomful of father’s and sons were located.

We were fed the meal of Kings. Anything I had ever thought about eating was on the table. It was….awesome.

Once dinner was over and all the plates, silverware and leftover food was taken away, we were left to talk amongst ourselves.

Each person my dad spoke to had the same story he had. A card slipped under a door telling of an invitation to compete.

All the kids I talk to were telling tall tales of “my dad is better than your dad” and that they were there to win.

As a couple of boys started an “are not/are too” shoving match, the room went dark.

A spotlight turned on facing the railing at the top of balcony that hung on the second floor.

A man in a dark black suit, flanked by a group of men in camouflage carrying weapons began to speak and detail why we were in attendance.

“Each of you were sent an invitation to compete. You were “Chosen”. You are here and will all compete for 1 prize. The winner of the competition will receive the deed to this mansion, all of its belongings, the grounds which surround it and a sum of 25 million dollars. Each of you is a team comprised of a Father and a Son. You may compete as a team but there will be only 1 winner. Fathers will help sons…..sons will help fathers….but in the end….one will sacrifice the other for the prize. The game we will play- Hide and Seek. The winner will be the last one alive. You will be given 1 hour to find your hiding place. Then we will come for you. If found, you will die. Your hour begins…….Now.”

After a few stunned looks at each other and the teams that surrounded us, the scrambling began. Father’s dragging sons to find there place of hiding. Inside….outside…wherever they could hide.

My Father and I ran outside. He stopped and looked down at me. He then knelt down to look me in the eye and said,

“Son, our best chance to win is to split up. You are smaller and quicker than I am. When we used to play this game I could really never find you. You can win and have all this for yourself. Hide. Win.”

“Dad….I can’t do this!!” I replied.

As he ran off into the trees, he yelled,

“YOU HAVE TO….WE WERE CHOSEN!”

I was left by myself.

The first place I hid was under one of the limos. So many cars. I thought it gave me a shot.

Soon I began to hear short screams in the distance.

The hour was up.

The seek was on.

I stayed put for I think 4 or 5 screams. I thought they sounded closer each time. I couldn’t stay here.

Death was happening quick. Some of the chosen weren’t lasting very long. But this was the seekers house. He probably knew every hiding place there was!

Open area was no good. I dashed into the house.

I chose the largest, darkest room I could find. And I waited……..and I listened…..

20140614-194117-70877042.jpg
I closed my eyes tight and prayed that my Dad was ok. The screams were now muffled but I could still hear them.

I opened my eyes. Looked out into the room. My heart was racing. I was sweating. Eyes darting back and forth looking for movement.

I thought I saw….I saw…..

where am I?

Why am I in my pajamas hiding behind the living room couch? I’m not in a strange mansion…. I’m at home…yup, I’m at home. I can hear my Dad snoring.

Stupid nightmare.

I get up from behind the couch. Still watchful….just in case. And go back to bed.
________________

This has been a story of a recurring
dream I have had since childhood. Maybe, since I have finally written about it….it will stop.

Written and posted July 24, 2012, under the title-

“Hide and Seek…to death”

I changed it slightly and am posting it again.

Why?

I had it again.

Only it was my own snores that woke me. At least I was still in bed and not hiding under a table when I awoke this time…..I don’t think I could fit as comfortably as I did when I was a child.

