Frame of Mind- 6 Years After One

by good2begone


Seven-days in the week

7-dwarves

Se7en-deadly sins

The number seven has been regarded with superstitious awe for centuries—some consider seven to be lucky; others, unlucky. Rather than being viewed as bringing good fortune or misfortune, the number seven has long been considered a digit of great power. For example, there are seven ecstasies of Zoroaster, the seventh day that celebrates the Sabbath, the seven days of the week, the seven golden candlesticks of Solomon’s temple. Among various early peoples, the seventh son of a seventh son was believed to be born with supernatural powers, a boy who would become a wizard when he grew to manhood. Likewise, the seventh daughter of a seventh daughter was believed to be born with gifts of prophecy and healing-
unexplainedstuff.com
____________

13=unlucky

Unlucky 13

The number 13 is considered an unlucky number in some countries. Charles Stewart Parnell had an irrational fear of the number thirteen. The end of the Mayan calendar’s 13th Baktun was superstitiously feared as a harbinger of the apocalyptic 2012 phenomenon. Fear of the number 13 has a specifically recognized phobia, Triskaidekaphobia, a word coined in 1911. The superstitious sufferers of triskaidekaphobia try to avoid bad luck by keeping away from anything numbered or labelled thirteen. As a result, companies and manufacturers use another way of numbering or labeling to avoid the number, with hotels and tall buildings being conspicuous examples (thirteenth floor). It’s also considered unlucky to have thirteen guests at a table. Friday the 13th has been considered the unluckiest day of the month.
The Code of Hammurabi consists of 282 laws, but does not have law number 13-
Wikipedia.com
___________

13 and 7.

Just numbers.

They do play a significant role in society. Some believe they are unlucky. Some believe the opposite.

Others are divided on the 2.

For me, the numbers are part of an equation that add up to solve the question on why life keeps moving in a

+

direction instead of in a

direction.

10/13/13-10/13/06=7

Friday the 13, 2006, in the month of October, was my first day of sobriety.

I was on probation for 2 felonies facing upwards of 20 years in prison.

I was alone.

Truly alone.

My choices were get sober or enjoy a few decades in a cage…..

Or die.

3 choices.

A beginning.

A pause.

Or

An end.

I reluctantly chose a beginning. If not for any other reason than to delay the inevitable for a while.

Today marks seven 10/13’s since that choice was made.

During that time frame, there have been many things that have happened.

I found a belief in God and relied on that faith.

I married the woman that I never dreamed I could have I life with.

I gained the responsibility of being a stepfather.

I became free from the chains of the state of Texas.

I lost faith in the God I came to understand in early sobriety and walked away from the program that taught me how to live life without the sauce.

I continue to search….I do not disregard.

I have maintained my sobriety.

7.

13.

Just numbers.

But, in my equation of things, they define the difference between

Life

And

Death.

20131013-121223.jpg

