The Truth About Shrivel

by good2begone


Raisins are shriveled up grapes. I know that’s not earth shattering news to anyone, but I have a point I will (eventually) get to.

I like raisins.

Specifically, in my cereal. You know the one called Raisin Bran.

Their claim to fame is 2 scoops of raisins in each box.

20130612-170154.jpg

Ahhhh…the sun looks so happy sharing those 2 obviously HUGE scoops with the breakfast cereal eating world…

But how much scoop of raisin is in 2?

Rather than buy a box and separate the bran from the shrivel….

Which I seriously considered.

Until I remembered that my wife and kids already believe that I am whack job….no need to add fact to their assumption.

I used the wonders of Google to seek my answer.

It led me to the Q and the A I was looking for by way of a website named

CHOW. com

I have already stated the question…no need to beat a shriveled grape. Here is the answer-

Contrary to what the packaging and years of television conditioning would have us believe, the raisins in Kellogg’s Raisin Bran are not added by a happy sun wielding two little scoops. The Two Scoops!™ promise that appears on Raisin Bran boxes is a marketing phrase “intended to differentiate Kellogg’s Raisin Bran from other types of raisin bran,” says Susanne Norwitz, Kellogg Company spokesperson. The raisins are added to the cereal by weight.
“Because we make Kellogg’s Raisin Bran in several package sizes, the amount of raisins in each package may vary and increases proportionately with the size of the package,” says Norwitz. “Each box contains approximately the same percentage by weight of raisins and flakes.”
In our unscientific analysis, we found that a 20-ounce box of Raisin Bran contained a scant cup of raisins, so for that size package, a “scoop” equals a stingy half cup.

Fascinating isn’t it?….OR MAYBE CONSUMER RIP OFF IS MORE LIKE IT!

(All caps used to exemplify raisin lovers distaste of marketing ploys that have fooled me for years)

I heard through the grapevine that companies lie to consumers….

I’m shocked.

20130612-170301.jpg
Stuff it singing shrivel with arms and legs…you look like a roach. Which I don’t like singing or in my cereal.

Great…now I lost my appetite.

And I had no point to get to…..

