The Canvas, The Miss & The Click

by good2begone


The Canvas

Remodeling a home helps to create a place where a family can create memories.

It starts as a blank canvas of sorts.

The owner adds the color and depth and atmosphere that they want…instead of what they have.

I am in the business of making a home into a “home sweet home”.

I can help make their dreams a reality.

Their dreams give me nightmares.

But, I love what I do…so I do what I love.

20130521-230019.jpg
The Miss

Currently, I am working out of town.

3-4 days a week for the next 2 weeks.

Another blank canvas in another town.

Work 12 hours a day. Sleeping on a blow up mattress in an empty house.

All the while, wishing I was at home with my wife and kids.

I’m here.

They are not.

I do what I love….but I do not love being away from them.

Things are happening at home that I only get to hear about but not be part of.

-my daughter can’t find her jacket
-my son is going bi polar over his grounding
-my wife had to give my chihuahua an enema.
-the family huddled in the center of the house, with candles, because of tornado warnings.

Me? I work, eat, sleep.

I talk to my wife on the phone. It’s not the same as being there. Texting is disconnected communication.

I. Miss. Them.

The Click

I quit counting down the hours when I got the news we are staying another day this week.

Part of the customer’s canvas needed to be erased as the dream has altered from the previous dream.

Let the nightmares begin.

If it were as easy as closing my eyes, clicking my heels together 3 times and saying,

“There’s no place like home.”

I would have been home already….

But I don’t have ruby red slippers,

I have 2 pairs of Chuck Taylor’s.

20130521-230213.jpg

And that stupid witch keeps changing remodeling plans, making it difficult for me to get home.

20130521-230328.jpg

