The Opening Gotcha

by good2begone


I WAS sick — sick unto death with that long agony; and when they at length unbound me, and I was permitted to sit, I felt that my senses were leaving me.The Pit and The Pendulum, Edgar Allen Poe

The man in black fled across the desert, the gunslinger followed.
The Gunslinger, Stephen King

Make yourself useless.How to Ruin Your Life, Ben Stein

I sent one boy to the gaschamber at Huntsville.
No Country For Old Men, Cormac McCarthy

Death is my beat.The Poet, Michael Connelly

John Wilkes Booth awoke Good Friday morning, April 14, 1865, hungover and depressed.Manhunt-The 12 Day Chase For Lincoln’s Killer, James L. Swanson
____________

Just a few of my favorite opening lines from books I have read…..more than once….twice…..three times a….

You get the picture……even though I used no pictures for this post.

A well written book or story does not need pictures.

The author creates them in your mind with the collection of words that he or she chooses.

If they getcha at the opening line….

Then they gotcha until the last.

Books….yeah, they are that good.

