Hardbacking In An “e” World

by good2begone


I am not a fan of the “e” revolution. I mean, I try….but my old fashioned self just will not allow me to convert to the technologically advanced art of reading.

My wife is a fan. She has rediscovered the beauty of reading books through the wonders of her Galaxy tab. She taps one of her book apps, searches for a minute, downloads a title she is interested in and

BAM

she’s reading.

My step daughter, who used to believe that books were made because of the movies ( true story) has recently began using “e” books for her schoolwork and book reports.

BRAVO

Me, on the other hand are a stickler for hardback books.

I love to search through musty old bookstores looking for something to catch my eye.

I love-

The smell of books

The sound of the pages turning

The way the spine cracks when the book is read over and over….but the jacket is in pristine condition.

The way book lovers treat the bookstore as they would a library.

Whispers.

Silent searchers of written treasures.

I walk the aisles in bookstores.

Category by category.

Letting my eyes and mind wander over the titles…hoping that one will catch my eye and set my mind ablaze with anticipation.

I judge a book by its cover…..somewhat

A title will tweak my interest.

I pick it up and look at the cover.

I then open the book to chapter 1 and read the first few sentences.

If I make it through a whole paragraph and my mind is yearning for more…..then it’s a keeper.

Here are a few examples-

20130210-203239.jpg
“My mother is standing in front of the bathroom mirror smelling polished and ready; like Jean Nate, Dippity Do and the waxy sweetness of lipstick. Her white, handgun-shaped blow-dryer is lying on top of the wicker clothes hamper, ticking as it cools. She stands back and smoothes her hands down the front of her swirling, psychedelic Pucci dress, biting the inside of her cheek.”

Or this one,

20130210-203758.jpg
All I needed was the first line on this one. “Make yourself useless.”

Here is another….

No pre check on this one. It’s my first edition of “The Stand” bought at a garage sale for $3…

20130210-204513.jpg

And lastly….for now

20130210-204721.jpg

I happen to have 3 brothers that I would love to chronicle 1 week with. Until I can do that I read that one.

Without the search it took to find those treasures I would not have appreciated the joy I had in reading them.

I live in a one click easy fix world. I’m just trying to hold on to my passion for the search of great reading in the dwindling hardback jungle.

