Everything I Need To Know About Life I Learned From Chutes And Ladders

by good2begone


Timeless, children’s board games. They are fun and educational. Looking back, there was one that I always loved…

Chutes and Ladders.

20130202-111401.jpg

Eventually I outgrew the game. It states on the box ages 3-7…..no one can be a child forever.

Or can we…

The basic premise of the game is to roll the dice and move to the figure the number of spaces that coincides with the dice. You may land on a chute or you may land on a ladder or you may just land on a numbered space.

20130202-111810.jpg

Every day, life is like a roll of the dice. As my years have progressed I realize I have landed on the ladder space many times-

20130202-112209.jpg
-learning to walk, talk, inquire and wonder
-winning in little league sports
-first date
-first kegger with the “cool kids”
-graduating high school
-getting married (twice)
-being a step father
-refraining from alcohol (and drugs) for a number of years
-buying that first new car

In comparison, I also realize I have landed on the chute space a number of times as well-

20130202-112655.jpg
-being told no for getting into things once I learned to walk, saying things a child shouldn’t say, and annoying everyone with nonsense.
-first rejection from a girl
-losing in sports….repeatedly
-throwing up on the “cool kids”
-failing at college….3 times
-a failed marriage
-being told “you are not my Dad”
-drinking and drugging my life away to the point of felony convictions.

Life has not been all ups and down. There are lots of times where life just is what it is….like just another numbered space on the board.

20130202-114045.jpg
-spending time with family
-relaxing with a cup of coffee
-sleeping
-enjoying a laugh with friends
-helping others

Life is more than earning a buck and coming out with lots of stuff.

Roll with good times.

Roll with the bad times.

Enjoy the gifts that the world has to offer.

Grow up from your youth….but never grow out of it.

Sooner or later it all ends anyway.

Hmm…turns out board games aren’t just child’s play after all.

