Help Wanted (Part 2)

by good2begone


What once made him feel unbreakable, has now left him broken.

But the time has finally come to choose

Gun….phone…phone…..gun

Bang…ring….ring….bang

Suddenly, the phone began to vibrate…

___________ Part 2 Begins____________

The buzzing phone broke his concentration. “Answering” a call was not one of the options……But his normal reflex told him different.

He looked at the screen, picked up the phone with his right hand, and moved his thumb over to the green button.

He paused when the voice, that was usually in his head, took form in the empty chair on the other side of the table and began to speak.

“I wouldn’t do that if I were you….”

The voice didn’t startle him. It was the location of the voice that made him drop the phone back onto the table.

He looked up from and across the table
as the phone stopped vibrating.

“What the….” He said under his breath.

“Pretty uncanny, huh? It’s me….I mean…I’m you….only a lot less stressed and complicated.” the alter plainly replied.

He grabbed one of the cigarettes out of the pack on the table, lit it up and took a long drag. After exhaling the smoke, he looked at the man he exited and continued….

“You,” he stated while pointing the fingers with the cigarette in between,
“are a freaking mess. Your inability to make a decision has made me whole.”

The man rubbed his eyes to see if it would make him disappear. To no avail, he was still there when he dropped his hands…smiling.

“I’m really here. Don’t bother with the dramatics. You summoned me. The first time you got high you unlocked a part of your brain that should have been left alone. I was in that mental chamber…….was, being the operative word.”

“Wait a minute…I haven’t gotten high in 2 days…”

“No shit, genius. And without it what have you been doing?…sitting in this roach motel NOT making any decisions.

Gun phone phone gun
Bang ring ring bang

What The hell is that nonsense? If you really wanted to do it, it would have been done already. Watch I’ll show you.”

The alter picked up the gun and placed it on his temple and pulled the trigger.

BOOM

Blood sprayed out the other side of his head and he fell into the floor.

The man shrieked. He sat for a moment then glanced down onto floor where his alter lay……

Only he wasn’t there. No blood, no body, no gun. Just the nasty carpet and the distinct smell of gunpowder.

“Over here, Mr. Decision Maker.”

He spun his head around. The alter was propped up on the bed, legs crossed leaning on 2 pillows, twirling the gun around his index finger.

“It could have been that easy. But nooooo….

Gun phone ring bang
Pitter patter smitten smatter

Ridiculous. You used to be something…….now you are just a junkie with a gun……and a phone let’s not forget about that.”

“So what….are you here to decide for me?” he asked.

“Ummm….no. I’m here to take over.” the alter confidently stated.

“You can’t TAKE OVER. You are a figment of my detoxing brain. Once I get some mental strength back I am going to fight to get my life back. I’m..”

“You have no fight left. Your brain is nothing but dead cells and bong resin. I had to come out, you hot boxing the space between your ears left me in charge. Every time you neglected to make a decision in your life, I got stronger. Your final indecision was your choice between

Calling for help
And
Answering the gun

I have had enough. You have neglected to make a decision on your own for way too long. I AM YOUR INDECISION AND I CAN’T TAKE IT ANYMORE!”

The alter got up off the bed. Confidently walked over to his weaker host and smacked the side of his skull with the butt of the gun.

He fell off the chair and hit the floor unconscious.

The alter then picked up the phone and dialed 911.

Ring ring
“Emergency Services. How may we help you?”

“Yeah, I don’t know where I am, but I’m in bad shape and hallucinating. I think I want to kill myself but I’m not sure….bang ring ring bang…can you help me?” the alter said and threw the phone on the bed.

He knelt down over his identity and whispered in his ear,

“Have no fear, my simpleton reflection, where you will be going no decisions will have to be made. They will be made for you. I got my own decisions to make now.”

He got up off the floor, picked up the pack of cigarettes, shook one out and lit it. After a long drag, he heard the faint sound of sirens. He exhaled slowly and strolled to the front door. He stopped momentarily, looked back at himself and thought,

“Should I wait to make sure they take him away or just leave?

Should I stay
Or
Should I go

He smiled.

“I gotta find a jukebox joint with that song in it.” he said joyfully and walked away whistling an old tune from “The Clash”

20120912-011201.jpg

Press here to continue to Part 3

